I always find the third day of anything hard: Quitting smoking, going to the gym...eating healthy!
My body was sluggish from the lack of carbohydrates and sugar. Originally I had thought about going to the gym in the morning, but I was too tired. So I packed my bag and brought it with me to work. I was going to do it on my lunch...ya uh huh!
7:30am - Woke up, big glass of water...ready to tackle the world. I made a delicious egg white omelet with spinach, red pepper and broccoli. A side of freshly made salsa (no vinegar) and a large ass coffee (black!). It was nice to take my time and enjoy the morning. No rushing to get the kiddies off to school, no lunches to make but my own. I was actually pro-active and made most of it the night before!
8:30am - Arrived at work. It was a gruler of a day with paperwork, little fires to put out and what made it worse was knowing half of my friends had the day off, still enjoying the New Year vacation. I was drinking about 1 litre of water every 90 minutes and visiting the lue about every 30. Ahhh the loveliness of the detox!
10:30am - Little nosh break. Cucumber and Red Pepper slices along with a yummy pear. The whole idea of this detox isn't about losing weight (not this time anyway) but more of a kick start to the new and improved me. To get my lazy, lethargic ass into motion and actually start DOING things again, instead of sitting around waiting for life to come at me. It seems a little extreme, but it really isn't. Again, its about self-dicipline...and actually DOING something about how you feel...right?
12:30pm - Still working my way through the paperwork that was compiled over the holidays. Working in Advertising has its advantages, but the administration of my job isn't one of them. I took a 10 minute break and forced myself to actually eat! I did and I felt a lot better...mind was more focused!!
4:30pm - I hit the wall. The Day 3 Wall that comes with this Wild Rose Detox. I headed home to make dinner. Bailing from work the half hour early was a good idea...I was totally moving slow!
6:30pm - I had a nice, quiet dinner with a friend, healthy Lemon Pepper Chicken Breast w/ Sweet Potato fries and Broccoli. Delish. We settled in, watched a movie and then we were suddenly both exhausted. After the movie, I said "adieu" to my friend and went straight to bed. The goal was to get enough sleep to wake up in the morning and hit the gym.
Sometimes it isn't actually life that wears you down, it's the little things that pop up that do. While my day went quickly, I must admit, I felt like I was dragging all day long. Perhaps if I had just gone for my run at lunch I would have felt better.
As it was, the 3 day headache came on hard, and my head hit the pillow...exhausted. I was pretty proud of myself though...aside from missing my run, I accomplished everything else I wanted yesterday...and even managed to smile a few times :)
T
No comments:
Post a Comment